Laureate Network

At BTK, we are part of the world’s largest network of private universities: Laureate International Universities. This network offers you the best opportunities for establishing valuable contacts to people all over the world, and to experience an inspiring stay abroad during your studies or international career. The network is comprised of more than 70 accredited universities in 25 countries with over 1,000,000 students – a truly global network across cultures and continents.

GLOBAL DESIGN

The working world today – especially in the creative industry – is global. That’s why a semester abroad, summer schools, student competitions, and exchange programs are an integral part of degree programs in design at BTK. You have the opportunity to gain valuable, international experience at one of our partner universities or another university of your choosing.

BROADENED HORIZONS

If you want to be successful in the creative industry, it is best for you to have experience abroad in today’s age. This not only broadens your own horizons and encourages intercultural understanding, but it also increases your job options in countries around the world. We are happy to support you in the selection, placement, and organization of your stay abroad.

HERE FOR GOOD - BTK STUDENTS IN ETHIOPIA

Which role do design and art play within poverty? How can projects in third world countries be supported? LISTROS is the perfect example of how creativity and commitment come together to achieve big results.

As part of the world’s largest educational network, each and every student at BTK is responsible for society and thinking globally, beyond their own borders and communities. Thus, students at BTK in Berlin have been working with the LISTROS society ever since 2008 – helping to promote projects in Ethiopia. LISTROS, Ethiopian for shoe polisher, supports the shoe polishers in Addis Abeba both in their job and their education. Poster competitions have been organized, and BTK students traveled to Ethiopia to get to meet the listri personally and to gain a better understanding of their lives.

A new project is in the pipeline for next year: Addis on fire – how does one start up a soccer club in Addis Ababa? The LISTROS society and students of the International Sport & Event Management program at BiTS have set about doing precisely that. They are helping to lay the foundation and establish the structures on the ground for this project to occur. A multinational group of students are organizing the entire program. The aim of the project – which also involves BTK – is to set up a functioning club in Addis Ababa, which gives young sports players prospects and creates jobs.

The next milestone on this journey is to hold a soccer tournament in Berlin in March, involving eleven teams from around Germany, with the aim to raise public awareness for the project. Invitations will be sent out to the bigger clubs, too. The winner of this tournament will travel to Addis Ababa next summer to compete against ten regional teams there. On the 14-day tour, the soccer team will get to know the people and culture of Ethiopia and, together with the students, showcase their dedication to the cause.

In this undertaking, BTK and BiTS students are supporting an international aid project and are passing on their knowledge for the benefit and encouragement of those in need.

Weltweit vernetzt

Die Gestaltungshochschule BTK ist Teil des größten weltweiten Netzwerkes privater Hochschulen, den Laureate International Universities – beste Voraussetzungen für wertvolle Kontakte aus aller Welt, inspirierende Auslandsaufenthalte während des Studiums und eine internationale Karriere. Über 70 akkreditierte Hochschulen in 25 Ländern mit über 1.000.000 Studierenden – das ist weltweite Vernetzung über alle Kulturen und Kontinente hinweg.

GLOBALES DESIGN

Die Arbeitswelt heute – speziell in der Kreativwirtschaft – ist global. Deshalb sind Auslandssemester, Summer Schools, Studienwettbewerbe und Austauschprogramme ein fester Bestandteil des Designstudiums an der BTK. Sammeln Sie wertvolle internationale Erfahrungen an einer unserer Partnerhochschulen und Universitäten in aller Welt.

ERWEITERTER HORIZONT

Wer erfolgreich in der Kreativbranche arbeiten möchte, braucht heute idealerweise Erfahrungen im Ausland. Das erweitert nicht nur den eigenen Horizont und fördert das interkulturelle Verständnis, sondern erhöht vor allem auch die Auswahl an tollen Jobangeboten auf der ganzen Welt. Wir unterstützen Sie als Student/in gern bei der Auswahl, Vermittlung und Organisation eines Auslandsaufenthaltes.

HERE FOR GOOD – BTK-STUDIERENDE IN ÄTHIOPIEN

Welche Rolle spielen Design und Kunst in Bezug auf Armut? Wie können Projekte in der 3. Welt unterstützt werden? LISTROS ist ein Paradebeispiel, wie Kreativität und Engagement ineinander greifen und gemeinsam Ergebnisse erzielen.

Als Teil des weltweit größten Bildungsnetzwerk übernimmt jeder einzelne Student der BTK Verantwortung für die Gesellschaft und denkt global,international und über Grenzen hinweg. So arbeiten Studierende der BTK Berlin seit 2008 gemeinsam mit dem Verein Listros an deren Projekten in Äthiopien. Listros (= Schuhputzer) unterstützt in Addis Abeba Schuhputzer in ihrer Existenz und deren Ausbildung. Plakat-Wettbewerbe wurden veranstaltet, Studierende waren selbst vor Ort, um die Listri kennen zu lernen und deren Leben besser zu verstehen.

Für das nächste Jahr steht ein neues Projekt an: Addis on fire – Wie gründet man einen Fussballverein in Addis Abeba? Der Verein Listros und Studierende des International Sport & Event Managements“ der Partner-Hochschule BiTS haben sich genau das vorgenommen und unterstützen vor Ort, einen Grundstein zu legen und Strukturen aufzubauen. Internationale Studierende übernehmen die komplette Organisation des Programms. Ziel der Zusammenarbeit - und das dann auch wieder mit der BTK gemeinsam - ist es, in Addis Abeba einen funktionierenden Verein aufzubauen, der jungendlichen Sportlern eine Perspektive bietet und auch Jobs schafft.

Der nächste Meilenstein auf dem Weg dorthin ist, im März ein Fussballturnier in Berlin auf die Beine zu stellen, bei dem 11 Mannschaften aus ganz Deutschland gegeneinander antreten und die Öffentlichkeit für das Thema sensibilisieren. Dabei gehen die Ausschreibungen auch an die großen Vereine. Der Gewinner dieses Turniers fährt dann im kommenden Sommer nach Addis Abeba und tritt gegen 10 regionale Mannschaften an. Bei ihrem zweiwöchigen Aufenthalt werden die Sportler die Menschen und Kultur Äthiopiens kennen lernen und gemeinsam mit den Studierenden vor Ort ihr Engagement unter Beweis stellen.

Die BTK- und BiTS-Studierenden unterstützen gemeinsam ein internationales Hilfsprojekt und geben ihr Wissen weiter, um Bedürftige zu fördern und ermutigen.